Manage groups in Malwarebytes Cloud Platform

Document created by bgoddard Employee on Sep 30, 2019Last modified by bgoddard Employee on Dec 5, 2019
Version 11Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

A group is a collection of endpoints that share the same policy. You may choose which policy you assign to each group. Organize your endpoints by creating groups and moving endpoints to them.

 

Here's how endpoints, groups, and policies work together:

  • Endpoints must belong to a group. By default, endpoints belong to the Default Group that uses the Default Policy.
  • Groups must have a policy assigned. When you create or edit a group, you decide which policy the group uses.
  • Endpoints can be moved to other groups. When endpoints are moved to a different group, they use the new group's policy..
  • Groups can be children of other groups. When adding a new group, it can be a child of an existing group.
  • Group policies can be changed. At any time, you can select a different policy for a group.
  • Policies do not need to be assigned to a group. When you create a policy, you do not have to assign it to a group. However, if a policy is not assigned to a group, it is not protecting any endpoints.

 

Add a group

When adding groups, use a clear naming convention.

  1. Go to Settings > Groups.

  2. Click New.

  3. Name the group.

  4. Select a policy from the Policy Name drop-down menu.
    • Optionally, click the checkbox Create within an existing group and choose a group to create the new group under.

  5. Click Save.

 

Move endpoints into groups

Endpoints are added to a group by moving them to the group. When an endpoint is moved to a group, it uses that group policy. Endpoints belong to the Default Group unless they are moved to a different group.

  1. Go to Endpoints.

  2. Select endpoints to add to a group and click Move.

  3. Select a group to move the endpoints to and click Save.

 

Edit a group

You may rename a group or change which policy the group uses.

  1. Go to Settings > Groups.

  2. Click the group name.

  3. Perform one of the following:
    • Edit the Group Name.
    • Select a different policy from the Policy Name drop-down menu.


  4. Click Save.

 

Delete a group

You may delete a group if it has no endpoints in it. If a group has child groups, and the child groups have endpoints in them, you cannot delete the group.

  1. Go to Settings > Groups.

  2. Select groups to delete.

  3. Click Delete. A warning is displayed. If you're sure you want to delete the group and any empty child groups, click DELETE.

 

See also

 

 

Return to the Malwarebytes Cloud Platform Administrator Guide 

Attachments

    Outcomes